History of Science for Kids

I recently got an email from Chad Lillian with the following request:

I was wondering if you could recommend some books for me about mathematical and scientific history that would be interesting for my 10 year old son to read (or for me to read with him)?  I have looked through your book reviews, but am wondering if there are any books you haven’t reviewed on your blog, but would recommend?

Now I don’t have and never have had children and I also don’t teach children so I am basically the wrong person to answer this question. Can people recommend suitable, preferably myth free, books on the histories of mathematics and science for Chad? make your suggestions in the comments!

4 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

4 responses to “History of Science for Kids

  1. I would recommend William Bynum’s A Little History of Science (http://www.amazon.com/Little-History-Science-William-Bynum/dp/0300197136). It’s intended for precisely the 10-12ish age range, and it’s by a serious historian of science and medicine. It’s based on EH Gombrich’s A Little History of the World, which is a delightful work of history for children/young teens.

  2. In Turkey, I am a teacher of philosophy in a college for 6 years and I have a lot of students (7-14 years) with whom we have read some books in philosophy-science perspective. I am also Classicist, and Phd student, so I could try whether they read some classics or not, as Platon’s and Seneca’s. I think they can read these books in company with one who knows the subjects, to discuss them and has an open mind. Moreover we have used some secondary books like Warburton’s A Little History of Philosophy, maybe it is possible to find some introductory books of science too, no one should think that these books are heavy or burdensome for children who can play and understand more complex pc games and watch tv animes.

  3. Nathan Kesling

    The Math Book: From Pythagoras to the 57th Dimension, 250 Milestones in the History Mathematic
    By Clifford A. Pickover
    Full of illustraions, easy to understand.

  4. darwinsbulldog

    I’m aware of these books, but have not read them myself:

    Three part series by Joy Hakim:
    The Story of Science: Aristotle Leads the Way http://amzn.to/1KEW2rc
    The Story of Science: Newton at the Center http://amzn.to/1KEW4iX
    The Story of Science: Einstein Adds a New Dimension http://amzn.to/1KEW6Hw

Leave a Reply

