The Renaissance Mathematicus Road Show 2015

 

At an ungodly hour next Wednesday morning I shall climb into the belly of the big metal bird and fly across the ocean of Athlant to the land of dreams, sunshine and water shortages, California. Why I’m leaving the seclusion and safety of my monk’s cell in Middle Franconia to visit the Bay Area will first be revealed in full upon my return. That is not the purpose of this post.

I shall be very busy over the weekend from 26 to 28 June, and no I don’t have tickets for Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara (sadly), but having taken a 9000 km and 9 hour flight upon myself I thought I’d hang around for a few days in the San Francisco area. If any of the readers of this blog, (are there any readers of this blog?) would like to meet up for a chat, drink (no alcohol), meal, walk or whatever I shall be freely available for such activities from Monday 29 June to Thursday 2 July and would be pleased to meet you, whoever you are. I love meeting my blog and Twitter friends in the flesh and all such meetings over the last six years or so have been both pleasant and stimulating.

If you are in the Bay Area that week and would like to meet up just drop me a line per email, in the comments or on Twitter and we can work something out. I have no fixed commitments over those four days so I’m very flexible.

11 Comments

Filed under Autobiographical

11 responses to “The Renaissance Mathematicus Road Show 2015

  1. I don’t suppose Boston is a stop on the way back?? 🙂

  2. For any of our American cousins tempted by the offer of a meet-up, I can personally vouch that Thony doesn’t bite.

  3. Wrong coast or I’d take you up on it.

  4. Ben Breuer

    If your take-off and landing spot is Frankfurt, by any chance, we could reprise our meeting of a few years back in Nuremberg, if you’d like. At least I could prop you up till you board the plane …

    And yes, Thony is indeed a sociable reader-meeter!

    Ben

    • I do indeed fly from Frankfurt but I have a connecting flight from and to Nürnberg which means I’m only in Frankfurt for about an hour each way and never leave the terminals. Otherwise I would very much enjoy meeting up with you again Ben.

  5. Mark Attorri

    Yes, R.M., you have many appreciative readers including this one, another east coaster. Hope you can make it to the Boston area one of these days. Safe journeys.

  6. I’ve had so many East Coasters reply both here and on Twitter that it looks like I’m going to have to get somebody to invite me to a conference on the East Coaster some time soon ;)) (that’s all expenses paid, of course!)

  7. Pingback: Whewell’s Gazette: Vol. #52 | Whewell's Ghost

Leave a Reply

