On the trail of the Friends of Charles Darwin

This week I was on an expedition to the very edges of civilisation in the wilds of Northern England. On Tuesday I took a local stagecoach to Hebden Bridge, the fabled home of that legendary tribe, The Friends of Charles Darwin.

Hebden Bridge Stagecoach Fare Invoice

Hebden Bridge Stagecoach Fare Invoice

Upon arrival I was challenged by the irate leader of the tribe Richard the Carter,

An irate Richard the Carter

An irate Richard the Carter

who thought I was there to steal his crop of buttercups.

His buttercup crop

His buttercup crop

However I managed to placate him and convince him that my intentions were entirely peaceful. He invited me in for a cup of the strange local brew, Yorkshire Tea and we conversed intensely on a wide range on topics.

When I left he displayed his friendly side, wishing me well on my further travels.

A placated tribal leader

A placated tribal leader

It is possible to become an honorary member of this exotic British tribe just by filling out the Internet membership form.

5 Comments

Filed under Autobiographical

5 responses to “On the trail of the Friends of Charles Darwin

  1. Well, yeah, but what did you TALK about? Evolved minds want to know…

  2. jrkrideau

    I have received my membership confirmation. Now have mob outside window: Appears to be 3 creationists, 2 Young Earth creations and what may be a worshipper of Thor or Odin—my Nordic gods identification skills are weak.

    Is this to be expected?

Leave a Reply

