Overwhelmed

Some of those who were kind enough to re-tweet my post on my struggles with dysgraphia referred to my decision to come out of the closet on the subject of my mental illness and some of its causes as brave, not a claim I would make for myself. One of my fears when contemplating going public was that my actions were foolhardy rather than brave. The responses both here on the blog and on Twitter have shown that fear to have been unfounded. In fact I was overwhelmed by the wave of warmth, acknowledgement and support that greeted my decision to admit to my learning disability and the problems that they have caused me throughout my life. Above all I am pleased by those who have correctly interpreted my motives and have found succour in my inadequate words. This very brief paragraph is just to say thank you to all those who read, commented on, tweeted or retweeted my dysgraphia post and who kindly gave me so much support and encouragement. You can’t know how much that means to me, thank you.

3 Comments

Filed under Autobiographical

3 responses to “Overwhelmed

  1. And a Happy Bloomsday to You❢

  2. Jeb

    I could not write about this still to raw. Which says to me you have come along way on you’re journey. A pleasing and inspiring thought.

    Thank you!

  3. Thank you for sharing. My kid displays some similar symptoms. I know, if the rest of the world doesn’t, that my kid is smart. He struggles at school. His spelling, grammar and his vocal articulation leave a lot to be desired. His class teacher is a very special human being. She sees past all of this and is amazed at the philosophical bent of his questions and the shape of his stories. At 9 years old he decided all by himself that God is a myth. You see he equated God with Santa and after a struggle he knew if Santa wasn’t real than neither is God. The rest of the family are practicing Christians. I’m really proud of him. But I’m his mother. It’s my job. We run around to paediatricians, child psychs etc and hopefully they will find a way for him that will preserve his self esteem. With your blog you give so much. My kid has a lot to give too. God bless you for coming through and for sharing.

Leave a Reply

