Ich bin a Gastblogger III: Drinking from the same well

I’m an alien

I’m a legal alien

I’m an Englishman in Nürnberg1

 

As an English historian of mathematics living in Germany another question that I have had put to me several times by those with somewhat more knowledge of the history of mathematics is, “who invented logarithms the Scottish aristocrat John Napier or the Swiss instrument maker Jost Bürgi?”…..

 

Leave a comment

Filed under History of Computing, History of Mathematics, History of science, Renaissance Science

Leave a Reply

