Fly me to the Moon

2009 is the International Year of Astronomy, which as it celebrates both the 400th anniversary of the first use of the telescope in astronomy and the publication of Kepler’s Astronomia Nova in 1609 has provided me with lots of work, public lectures etc. However it is also the 40th anniversary of the first moon landing in 1969 and my Guardian Weekly ( a weekly digest of the English daily newspaper The Guardian for expatriates like myself) informs me that Theo Kamecke’s film Moonwalk One is to be issued on DVD.

The film is a documentary, paid for by NASA that chronicles the first moon landing. Originally only shown in a few American East Coast cinemas in 1972 and at the Cannes Film Festival in 1974 this is the first time that the film will be generally available. The 71-year-old Kamecke says of his film;

“I wanted to make a film that had kind of an epic quality that just captured the sense of life on Earth as our species stepped off the Earth”.

2 Comments

Filed under Odds and Ends

2 responses to “Fly me to the Moon

  1. Christine

    I love your blog. I find the first lunar landing fascinating. This is Nixon’s “In the event of moon disaster” speech which he had on hand, prepared for all contingencies I suppose. It’s like an alternative history science fiction, very exciting & troubling.

  2. Christine

    Oh, and you might be interested in this interview I once saw: it was Philo T. Farnsworth’s wife after he had passed, and she was saying (I paraphrase) that watching the lunar landing with him was the first time (perhaps only time?) that Farnsworth said perhaps the television was good for something after all. It’s a fantastic little anecdote if you ask me, the poor guy…

Leave a Reply

