Giants’ Shoulders #60 Part I: Five Full Years: A Retrospective

With Giants’ Shoulders #60 we close the fifth full year of the existence of the Internets number one history of science blog carnival. To celebrate this milestone I have decided to create a retrospective of the last 59 carnivals in chronological order. Not all of them still exist but where they do I shall choose one of the included post to feature for that carnival. This is not intended to be the best post or anything like that just the one that caught my eye whilst skimming through the list. Giants’ Shoulders #60 Part II, which I hope to have up by tomorrow will as usual feature the best of #histsci, #histtech and #histmed bloggage from the last month. But now back to the future!

Giants’ Shoulders was called into being by Dr SkySkull aka GG physicist, lover of pulp fiction and excellent, although strictly amateur, historian of science. His original announcement posted on June 11 2008 read as follows:

Welcome!  This blog will be maintained as the announcement and information center for “The Giant’s Shoulders”, a new monthly science blogging event.  Information about the event can be read here.  We intend to start things off with a call for hosts of the event and for papers for the first incarnation.

GS #1 July 2008 was hosted by ‘The Blog Father’, Bora Z at his Blog around the Clock website and apparently no longer exists. (But it does!!)

Added 18 June:

Last night Bora Z added the following in the comments so I thought I would bring it up here for those who wisely avoid comment columns:

Hi, the #1 is alive – when Scienceblogs moved from MoveableType to WordPress, they broke all the links, but it’s here:

Many, but not all, of the missing editions were also on Scienceblogs , which of course explains their disappearance .

GS #2 August 2008 was hosted at The Lay Scientist and also no longer exists

GS #3 September 2008 was hosted at Entertaining Research and I have chosen this post by our founder Dr SkySkull

“Interference between different photons never occurs:” Not! (1963)

GS #4 October 2008 was hosted at second order approximation and I have chosen this post from Money Blue Book

 Test Credit Card Numbers With Luhn Credit Card Validation

GS #5 November 2008 was hosted at Pod Black Blog and no longer exists

GS #6 December 2008 was hosted at Rigorous Trivialities and I have chosen this post by Bablab

The Rise and Fall of Phrenology

GS #7 January 2009 was hosted at The Questionable Authority and I have chosen this post microecos

Thus, in these regions the electric fire breaks forth from the lowest depths of the waters.

GS #8 February 2009 was hosted at Greg Laden’s Blog and I have chosen this post by Chinleana

The Aetosaur Paper That Changed Everything

GS #9 March 2009 was hosted at The Evilutionary Biologist and I have chosen this post by Quantum Musings and Problem Sets of Filipinos

The Equation that changed the world

GS #10 April 2009 was hosted by Stochastic Scribbles and I have chosen this post by The Dispersal of Darwin

Book Review: Jim Endersby’s “Imperial Nature”

GS #11 May 2009 was hosted at Curving Normality and I have chosen this post by The Evilutionary Biologist

This Weeks Citation Classic: What is Life?

GS #12 June 2009 was hosted at Thoughts from Gut Bacteria and no longer exists.

GS #13 July 2009 was hosted at Skulls in the Stars and is a wonderful “Day at the Fair” to celebrate one full year of existence. I have chosen this post by Central Science

Wisps of Metal, Whispers of History

GS #14 August 2009 was hosted by The Dispersal of Darwin and I have chosen this post by Dawinaia

Hugh Falconer

GS #15 September 2009 returned to Entertaining Research and I have chosen this post by Providentia

The Halifax Explosion

GS #16 October 2009 was hosted at Quiche Moraine and I have chosen this post by Phil for Humanity

The History and Introduction of Nuclear Chemistry and the Atomic Model

GS #17 November 2009 was hosted at The Primate Diaries and I have chosen this post by Weird Things

charles darwin and otto hahn’s alien fossils

GS #18 December 2009 was hosted at Jost a Mon and I have chosen this post by A DC Birding Blog

A Historic Paper on Cuckoo Behavior

GS #19 January 2010 was hosted by yours truly here at The Renaissance Mathematicus and I have chosen this post by Executed Today

1624: Marco Antonio de Dominis Posthumously

GS #20 February 2010 was hosted by Skull in the Stars and I have chosen this post by Ether Wave Propaganda

Primer: William Thompson

GS #21 March 2010 was hosted by PACHSmögåsbord and I have chosen this post by Time to Eat the Dogs

Prester John

GS #22 April 2010 was hosted by The Lay Scientist and no longer exists.

GS #23 May 2010 was hosted by Deep Sea News and I have chosen this post by Oceanographer’s Choice

Varieties of Oceanographic Experience

GS #24 June 2010 was again hosted by Jost a Mon and I have chosen this post by Heterodoxology

Lawrence Principe and the Rehabilitation of Alchemy – another lecture in Utrecht

GS #25 July 2010 was again hosted by The Dispersal of Darwin and I have chosen this post by Mz Skeptica

The Value of Learning History of Science: One Student’s Perspective

GS #26 August 2010 was hosted by Neurotic Physiology and no longer exists

GS #27 September 2010 was again hosted by Entertaining Research and I have chosen this post by From the Hands of Quacks

Monday Series: The Criminalized Body I

GS #28 October 2010 was hosted by From the Hands of Quacks and I have chosen this post by Saudi Aramco World

Arabic in the Sky

GS #29 November 2010 was hosted by Heterodoxology and I have chosen this post by Ptak Science Books

The Invisible Influence of the Highly Visible? Comets and Meteors in Astrology

GS #30 December 2010 was hosted by Whewell’s Ghost and I have chosen this post by OU History of Science Collections

Holly for the Holidays

GS #31 January 2011 was hosted by Morning Coffee Physics and I have chosen this post by Early Modern Experimental Philosophy

Newton’s “Crucial Experiment”

GS #32 February 2011 returned again to Skulls in the Stars and I have chosen this post by Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Centraal

Population, Leeuwenhoek and National Geographic

GS #33 March 2011 was hosted by Sascha here at the Renaissance Mathematicus and he has chosen this post by History of Geology

The Last Virtuoso: Robert Hooke and his contributions in geology

GS #34 April 2011 returned to From the Hands of Quacks and I have chosen this post by Medical Museion

What kind of social studies of science publications would convince scientists themselves?

GS #35 May 2011 was hosted once again by Jost a Mon and I have chosen this post by John Graham Cumming

Geek Weekend: Charles Darwin’s Home

GS #36 June 2011 was hosted by once more by The Dispersal of Darwin and I have chosen this post by Laelaps

 Plesiosaurs the beautiful bottom feeders

GS #37 July 2011 was hosted by Providentia and I have chosen this post by David Dobbs

The Arabick Roots of Science

GS #38 August 2011 was hosted by The Longitude Blog and I have chosen my own contribution

Upon Reflection: The Hadley Brothers

GS #39 September 2011 was hosted by Mammoth Tales which also seems to have disappeared

GS #40 October 2011 was hosted by Heathen Hub and I have chosen this post by Degrees of Freedom

Archimedes and Euclid like string theory versus freshman calculus 

GS #41 November 2011 was hosted by Early Modern Experimental Philosophy and I have chosen this post by Reciprocal Space

 I get my kicks from thermodynamicks

GS #42 December 2011 was hosted once more by PACHSmögåsbord and I have chosen this post by Booktryst

Tycho Brahe’s Sculpture Garden of Scientific Instruments

GS #43 January 2012 was hosted by our stalwart The Dispersal of Darwin and I have chosen a post by Dinosaur Tracking

 Huxley’s Apocryphal Dinosaur Dinner

GS #44 February 2012 returned here to The Renaissance Mathematicus and I have chosen this post by Deborah Blum

The Science of Mysteries: Instructions for a Deadly Dinner

GS #45 March 2012 was back at Skull in the Stars and I have chosen this post by Rebekah Higgitt at the Longitude Blog

There’s no such thing as the Longitude Prize 

GS #46 April 2012 returned to Providentia (and this time it’s really there) and I have chosen this post by The Georgian Gent

James Hutton, the “Father of Modern Geology” 1726 – 1797

GS #47 May 2012 was hosted by The Medical Heritage Library and I have chosen this post by Gruts

Wittgenstein’s Drachenflugexperiment 

GS #48 June 2012 was hosted by Clerestories and I have chosen this post by Amy Shira Teitel

Venus Transits through history

GS #49 July 2012 was hosted once more here at the Renaissance Mathematicus and I have chosen this post by Contagions

Plague at the Siege of Caffa, 1346

GS #50 August 2012 our half-century was celebrated by From the Hands of Quacks and I have chosen this post by Vanessa Heggie at The H-Word

Sex testing and the Olympics: myths, rumours and confirmation bias

GS #51 September 2012 was hosted History of Geology and I have chosen this post by Providentia

Down on the Heebie-Jeebie Farm

GS #52 October 2012 was hosted by Friends of Darwin and I have chosen this post by Athene Donald

Heroic genius or a distraction from reality?

GS #53 November 2012 was hosted by The Scicurious Brain and I have chosen this post by Skull in the Stars

Invaders from Mars: Reports from the 1938 Invasion

GS #54 December 2012 was hosted by Contagions and I have chosen this post by The Chirurgeon’s Apprentice

Abraham Lincoln: Conversations with the Dead

GS #55 January 2013 was hosted by The Sloane Letters Blog and I have chosen this post by Open Scientist

 Thomas Young the (Last) Man Who Knew Everything

GS #56 February 2013 returned once more to the Dispersal of Darwin and I have chosen this post by The Royal Society: The Repository

Our unusual ‘Chymist’

GS #57 March 2013 was hosted by Stories from the Stores and I have chosen this post by Alexi Baker

Meteorites and mediators of material culture

GS #58 April 2013 was hosted by Asylum Science and I have chosen this post by Trying Biology

Anti-Evolution and Anti-Eugenics: A missing link?

GS #59 May 2013 was hosted by Something by Virtue of Nothing and I have chosen this post by Life and Physics

Feynman: his birthday, his diagrams and his lectures

GS #60 Part II: The Present will appear here at the Renaissance Mathematicus tomorrow (hopefully!)

I have tried in my fairly random choice of post to give at least a flavour of the wide range of the numerous posts that have featured on the Giants’ Shoulders history of science blog carnival over the last five years.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Giants' Shoulders

5 responses to “Giants’ Shoulders #60 Part I: Five Full Years: A Retrospective

  1. Hi, the #1 is alive – when Scienceblogs moved from MoveableType to WordPress, they broke all the links, but it’s here:
    http://scienceblogs.com/clock/2008/07/16/the-giants-shoulders-1/

  2. I think removing “php” from the end of URL will fix all the Scienceblogs ones, worth a try. Or search the site?

  3. Pingback: Carnivalia — 6/12 – 6/18 | Sorting out Science

Leave a Reply

